DMV SR-1 Form: What You Need to Know

sr-1 formCar accidents are inconvenient and painful. An Orange County car accident lawyer could go on for days about the troubles caused due to damage to your vehicle, injuries to yourself or friends and family, and dealing with the insurance companies. However, among all the insurance paperwork, phone calls, and other hassles, one item stands out for California drivers: the DMV SR-1 form.

What is an SR-1 Form?

Within 10 days of a major accident, California law requires you to fill out an SR-1 form if:

  • There was property damage of more than $1,000
  • Anyone was injured
  • Anyone was killed

Even if you’ve reported the accident through your insurance company, you still have to submit an SR-1 to the DMV.

Why SR-1?

While filling out yet another form may seem like a bit of unnecessary paperwork, the SR-1 form helps protect responsible drivers. Auto insurance is mandatory in California, but unfortunately not all drivers comply. In addition to creating a record of the accident itself and any damages, this form provides evidence if you’re in an accident with an uninsured driver. This can help protect you when dealing with insurance companies.

What Information Must Drivers Provide?

The form itself isn’t too complicated – it includes contact information for you and the other driver(s), as well as information about the accident and any damage or injuries that occurred as a result. You’ll also submit your insurance information including an NAIC number, which is a number assigned by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners to each insurance underwriting company. This often appears on insurance ID cards as “Company Number.”

The form (PDF available here) is fairly straightforward, but an experienced Orange County car accident lawyer can help. Call us today at (949) 353-6603 or contact us online and we’ll be happy to fill it out for you.

About RMD Law

We are Orange County personal injury lawyers servicing all of California. Our attorneys regularly handle cases from all over the state.

We take cases from Los Angeles County, Riverside County, and Kern County. Our practice is not limited to these areas, and if you have been injured in an auto or motorcycle accidenttruck accidentdog bite, or trip and fall anywhere in California, you should consult with us as soon as possible. Let us help you to maximize the value of your case.

When You’re Hurt, RMD Law Can Help You

Don’t let insurance companies take advantage of you after an accident. You have rights, so let us help you protect them. Call our office to schedule a free consultation and have an attorney from our team explain how we can help you get the recovery you deserve.

Here Are A Few Of Our Recent Settlements & Verdicts

  • $250Thousand

    Auto Accident

    Client injured on the highway, sustaining spinal injuries.

  • $600Thousand

    Personal Injury

    Minor child injured due to a defective playground slide.

  • $2Million

    Wrongful Death

    Parking lot accident involving personal injuries and wrongful death.

We Provide Personal Attention

No two accidents are the same, but they all have one thing in common: they should never be handled without professional help.

At RMD Law LLP, our Orange County car accident lawyers often see clients who tried to handle the case without help and have ended up receiving a low offer or delays from the insurance company instead of the money they are entitled to receive by law. When people come to us with such cases, it is often too late for us to help. Do not let this be you! Discuss your options with us today.

Our consultation is FREE and there is no obligation for you to hire our firm; however, waiting to contact us could cost you time, money, and stress. Instead of delaying, call our experienced personal injury attorneys who can help you decide on the best course of action.